European union


The Danish parliament (Folketing)
Chaiperson: -
Members: 179

Parliamentary groupLiberal Party
Information for the partyThe Liberal Party (Liberale Parti, also known as Venstre) is a major free market liberal party in Denmark. The party is a member of Liberal International and sits with the European Liberal Democrat and Reform Party in the European Parliament. In the 2005 parliamentary elections, it received 29% of the vote, and 52 out of 179 seats. It is led by Anders Fogh Rasmussen, the Prime Minister, and governs in coalition with the Conservative People's Party.

Parliamentary groupSocial Democrats
Information for the partyThe Social Democrats (Socialdemokraterne), is a Danish political party. After the 2001 parliamentary elections it became the second largest party, with 29.1% of the votes and 52 seats. After the election of 2005, it is still the second largest party with 25,8% (867.350 votes) and 47 seats. These results were the first time the Social Democrats were not the most popular party since the end of World War II. The party is currently led by Mogens Lykketoft, and it is a member of the Party of European Socialists and the Socialist International. It has two MEPs in the European Parliament.

Parliamentary groupDanish People's Party
Information for the partyThe Danish People's Party (Danish: Dansk Folkeparti) is a nationalistic political party in Denmark. Some might characterize it as a conservative-nationalist-social democratic party. It is often portrayed as a far-right party, which is correct in some ways, but it supports many social democratic policies and opposes some traditionally "right wing" ideas.
In the 2005 parliamentary elections, it took 24 seats out of 179 (an increase of 2 seats), on 13.3% of the vote, making it the third largest party in Denmark.
The party was founded on October 6, 1995 after Pia Kjærsgaard, Kristian Thulesen Dahl, Poul Nødgaard and Ole Donner left the Progress Party. The party made its electoral debut in the 1998 Danish parliamentary election winning 13 seats. Later, in a dramatic election in 2001 they won 22 seats. They became the third largest party in parliament and supported the Conservative-Liberal coalition government in exchange for the implementation of some of their key demands such as strong anti-immigration policies. ̉he party has an anti-immigration platform and wants Denmark to leave the European Union.
It is led by Pia Kjærsgaard. In the European Parliament its single MEP sits as a member of the Union for a Europe of Nations grouping.

Parliamentary groupConservative People's Party
Information for the partyThe Conservative People's Party (Danish Det Konservative Folkeparti) is a Danish political party. Before 1915 it was known as Højre (Right).
The party has participated in several coalition governments, but only one Prime Minister (statsminister in Danish), Poul Schlüter, has come from this party. He served from 1982 to 1993.
Since 2001, the Conservative People's Party has been the junior partner in a coalition government with Venstre. It is currently led by Bendt Bendtsen who serves as Trade and Industry minister.
In the 2004 election for the European Parliament, Gitte Seeberg won a seat for the party, where she sits in the EPP-ED group.

Parliamentary groupDanish Social Liberal Party
Information for the partyDet Radikale Venstre (literally: The Radical Left, but officially translated by the party as Danish Social Liberal Party), is a social liberal party in Denmark. The party is a member of Liberal International and the European Liberal Democrat and Reform Party. It was founded in 1905 as a split from the Left (liberals). The literal translation radical left is nowadays somewhat misleading, as the party is traditionally described as being in the center of the Danish left-right political scale.
The party performed well at the 2005 elections, adding 8 seats to its group. It now has 17 seats with 9.2 % of the popular vote. The party remains in opposition to the right-wing coalition, lead by the Liberal Party.

Parliamentary groupSocialist People's Party
Information for the partyThe Socialist People's Party (Danish: Socialistisk Folkeparti) is a Danish socialist party. It was founded in 1959 by Aksel Larsen. Its former leader Holger K. Nielsen resigned after the 2005 elections, in which the party lost a seat in the parliament. Its ideological base is folkesocialisme (Popular Socialism). In December 2004 the party had 7 464 members.
The SPP is a member of the Nordic Green Left Alliance and has observer status in the European Greens. Before the 2004 election, the party sat in the European United Left - Nordic Green Left group in the the European Parliament. Its one member after the 2004 election, Margrete Auken, controversially chose to sit in the European Greens - European Free Alliance group instead.

Parliamentary groupUnity List
Information for the partyThe Unity List (Enhedslisten or Ø), also called the Danish Red-Green Alliance, is a political party in Denmark. The party was formed in 1989 by three left-wing parties (Left Socialist Party (VS), The Communist Party of Denmark (DKP), and The Socialist Workers Party (SAP)). All these three parties maintain separate structures within Enhedlisten. A fourth party, the Communist Workers Party (KAP), wanted to join but was not allowed to (due to a veto by DKP). Thus KAP was dissolved in 1994, and the members of KAP joined Enhedslisten as individuals.
The party entered Folketinget, the Danish parliament, for the first time in 1994. The party is generally considered the left-most party in parliament. After the 2005 Danish parliamentary elections it occupies 6 out of 179 seats, making it one of the minor political parties. The party has never been part of a Danish government.

Parliamentary groupProgress Party
Information for the partyThe Progress Party (Fremskridtspartiet) is a Danish political party, formed in 1973. Its founder, the former lawyer Mogens Glistrup, gained huge popularity in Denmark after he appeared on Danish television, showing that he paid 0 percent in income tax. The party was placed on the far right of the political spectrum, as it supported economic liberalism, believed in tax cuts, and also vowed to cut government spending. The party entered the Danish parliament, the Folketing, the same year with 28 out of 179 seats, making it one of the largest parties of the parliament, though it did not form a part of the ruling coalition.
The party lost gradually most of the support it had among the population, and in 1993, a number of party members rebelled, most notably Pia Kjærsgaard, the leader at that time of the Progress Party, and formed the now much more popular Danish People's Party.

Parliamentary groupPeople's Party (Fólkaflokkurin, Faroe)
Information for the partyPeople's Party (Fólkaflokkurin, Faroe)

Parliamentary groupRepublican Party (Tjóðveldisflokkurin, Faroe)
Information for the partyRepublican Party is a political party from Faeroe islands

Parliamentary groupEskimo Community
Information for the party(Inuit Ataqatigiit, Greenland)

unicameral parliament
faction: 179

factionLiberal Party
factionSocial Democrats
factionDanish People's Party
factionConservative People's Party
factionDanish Social Liberal Party
factionSocialist People's Party
factionUnity List
factionProgress Party
factionPeople's Party (Fólkaflokkurin, Faroe)
factionRepublican Party (Tjóðveldisflokkurin, Faroe)
factionEskimo Community